Dec. 9 – 4:36 p.m.

The past week has been so busy, but also very uneventful at the same time. Leading up to surgery I was so anxious and tense all the time, I couldn’t enjoy simple pleasures. I used to shake upon any form of human physical connection, and my responses to questions or opinions was so overthought that I usually didn’t have much to say in the end. Post-surgery has been rough, but I feel different. Yes, maybe because an aggressively growing tumor was cut out from inside my head, but I feel energetically lighter, a sort of spirituality.

A good friend of mine who lives out of town surprised me yesterday, and I all but crumbled into her arms upon seeing her face. The hug I received felt so good, warm and just full of so much genuine love that I feel that maybe my body has been missing out on due to my own anxiety or fears. I have been so tense and shaky that I haven’t let people be close to me. Physical connection is so important, and it can help us in so many different ways, but I have been so disconnected that I haven’t been letting it. I feel that because of that it has made me scared.
But I’ve been calm now.

I don’t feel very tense lately, or anxious. It’s very strange, and it has taken me a week to notice and identify it. I feel very weightless, and in craving. Craving being touched, hugged, comforted, patted, kissed. Some things in which I no longer receive at the moment. And that’s okay. I figure sometimes what I’m feeling is loneliness, and that’s okay, too. I don’t have to feel full to be a functionally interactive part of the world, and I don’t need to be whole to be alive. I will get there. Attitude has a lot to do with everything, as well as perspective. And both of those are completely up to me. I make the choices.
I feel that part of the reason I may feel so much lighter is because I’m allowing myself to feel just so. It took me a long time to do this, but now that I have recognized and acknowledged it, I feel pretty confident about it.

Some things don’t matter as much as you may think.
And some of them do.
But deciding between the two is completely up to me.

Leave a Reply

